“I’ll Give You The Sun” by Jandy Nelson

SunCover

Title: I’ll Give You The Sun

Author: Jandy Nelson

Published by: Penguin Group

Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Contemporary, Romance

In-Series/Stand Alone: Stand Alone

Rating: ★★★★★★ (is that possible? well, I just made it possible)

Intro: A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell…

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with his charismatic neighbor, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red lipstick and does the talking for the both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways… until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else — an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world. This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing — often all at once.

My Review: I cannot put into words how much I love/adore love/adore love/adore this book he Sky Is Everywhere, years and years ago in either sixth or seventh grade, and although I only read it once, the story and her writing stuck with me all this time. So when I saw I’ll Give You The Sun on Goodreads, I knew I /had/ to read it and ended up ordering it that same day. I’m so glad I made that decision. It’s been a very long time since I’ve connected to a novel and its characters in such an intimate and personal way. The two different points of views from two different points in time were so incredibly well written — the story just seemed to flow so well, and everything added up so beautifully in the end. The characters are so alive, they seemed to literally crawl off the pages and into your life. As Ransom Riggs, author of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, said about this book, “Jandy Nelson’s writing is so electric, so alive, her pages practically glow in the dark.” These pages are a work of art, and the book itself a masterpiece. Our journey starts with Noah, at age 13, and his twin sister Jude, picks it up three years later at the age of 16. Two beautiful, charismatic, hilarious and original voices woven together with time, fate, heartbreak, and love. The connections between one character and another, between one event and another, absolutely dazzled me. I had to put the book down quite a few times just to absorb the genius that is Jandy Nelson. She made me believe in miracles… in fate, in destiny. That some things, some people, come into our lives because we were always meant to be a part of the same story. That, as Jude once puts it, “you have to see the miracles for there to be miracles.” I’m in love and I’m in awe. Jandy Nelson is an artist, and in many ways this book is a painting. A story about family, love, art, fate, toilet-licking moments, angel wishes, oranges, parachutes, and world domination — you think I’m joking? Read it for yourself to find out. Take this journey. Feel it all. Feel the miracles, my friends.

Favorite Quotes:

“Meeting your soul mate is like walking into a house you’ve been in before — you will recognize the furniture, the pictures on the wall, the books on the shelves, the contents of drawers: You could find your way around in the dark if you had to.”

~

“‘Or maybe a person is just made up of a lot of people,’ I say. ‘Maybe we’re accumulating these new selves all the time.’ Hauling them in as we make choices, good and bad, as we screw up, step up, lose our minds, find our minds, fall apart, fall in love, as we grieve, grow, retreat from the world, dive into the world, as we make things, as we break things.”

~

“It’s never occurred to me that the stars are still up there shining even in the daytime when we can’t see them.”

~

“Quick, make a wish.
Take a (second or third or fourth) chance.
Remake the world.”

~

“This is what I want: I want to grab my brother’s hand and run back through time, losing years like coats falling from our shoulders.”

~

“I don’t know how this can be but it can: A painting is both exactly the same and entirely different every single time you look at it. That’s the way it is between Jude and me now.”

~

“I love you” I say to him, only it comes out, “hey.” “So damn much,” he says back, only it comes out, “dude.” 

~

“You have to see the miracles for there to be miracles.”

*Note: Who else thinks this would make a brilliant movie?!

*DISCLAIMER*  If you have not read this book yet, I’d really recommend not going through the comments section in case there’s a spoiler. You can always come back here later to discuss after you’ve read the book! (Or contact me if you want to talk about it beforehand)

One thought on ““I’ll Give You The Sun” by Jandy Nelson

  1. I’ve bern wanting to read this book for awhile and seeing this makes me want to go out and buy it right now! It sounds amazing. I think I’m ready to feel the miracle!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s